Mixing different meats

• I have some smaller amounts of deer, elk and moose form the last couple years. Is it ok to mix them all together to make one batch?

• Absolutely you can do that, just make sure you add some fat to the mix as those are all pretty lean meats. One of the guys here made some snack sticks doing basically the same thing except his was deer, elk and I think antelope. He used the Willie’s snack stick seasoning and they turned out pretty tasty.

• @boudreaux Thank you. I am going to make summer sausage out of it with spices I got from Walton’s. It is my first try, so any helpful tips would be great.

• @ttinidaho The main thing you need to worry about in my opinion is making sure you get good Protein extraction. Without that you will definitely be disappointed with the final product. I use the 20 lb meat mixer that we sell at Walton’s and mix for about 10-11 minutes changing direction about every minute or so to ensure I’m mixing the meat well. I’d recommend using a meat binder like Carrot fiber or Super Bind (kinda expensive) or Sure Gel. The only one of those I haven’t used yet is the Sure Gel but all three are great products. Also another popular product for summer sausage and snack sticks is Encapsulated Citric Acid, which is going to do a couple things for you. One is it acts as a cure accelerator and the other is it lowers the PH of the meat which will give you the “tangy” flavor associated with summer sausage. If you aren’t worried about speeding up the process and don’t want the tangy flavor then you can skip adding that and just hold the meat at least 12 hrs prior to cooking. Hope all this helps and good luck!

• @boudreaux I have your carrot fiber,how much per pound? And will it make the meat difficult coming out of the stuffer?

• @skipdiggidy 4 oz per 25 lbs of meat. No more difficult than without it, just make sure you add enough water.