Bratwurst Bursts

• Hello all,
    This is my first time at making bratwurst. I am using the 32mm collagen casings. I looked at the video, and am trying to roll then into links. The issue is they burst when I roll them. Any thoughts on why? I am guessing the casings are too full. Without, re-stuffing, how can I savage this batch. It’s a 3lb batch.
    0_1548800471817_IMG_5848.jpg

• Power User

Overstuffed. They shouldn’t be quite so stuffed prior to linking. When you go to cook them poke several holes and go low and slow or you will really see some bursting!

• Walton's Employee

@bill-k Yes, they are overstuffed if they are bursting like that. My first recommendation would be to put them in the freezer for a 20-30 minutes and then just cut them instead of twisting them, you will get some “bulbing” on the ends when you are cooking them but it’s better than having them burst while twisting them. The other idea would be to twist them and after they pop push some of the meat out of the casings and then twist the ends that are now understuffed. You could make a patty out of what has come out of the casings as a bonus.

This is why slightly understuffing is what I do, if I want them tighter I can always twist them a few more times to tighten them up!

• @joe-hell
    Thanks Joe!
    That’s what I thought…

• @jonathon we had some issues with brats bursting in the vacuum chamber, would placing them in the freezer for a little while also cure this?

• Walton's Employee

@big-dld Freezing brats before vacuum sealing them is something I do every time, it prevents them from being deformed by the vacuuming process and I imagine it would also fix them bursting. That’s a really interesting problem though, so they are bursting like they would if they were overstuffed and twisted, or is it another way? I can see them bursting from all the air being removed and the meat expanding but I have never seen it happen.