Sausage making question.

• Okay so Im no newb for the most part as Ive been making several different sausages for close to 10 years now. The thing with mine are they are usually, meat, spice, stuff and eat. I smoke several kinds as well. From browsing the word I see threads talking about these powders and binders and stuff that people add to their sausage. Ive never used these before and really don’t know what they are for. Any advice on that is welcomed! My main question is that I have a few recipes that have a lot of spices in them and I think the texture is slightly off. Could it be that the spices are altering the bind and I need to add a binder to tighten it up a bit? For instance a curry sausage I make has a bit of curry powder in addition to other spices. Anyway, Im learning as I go and its a wonderful learning experience, so any advice or resources would be great. Thanks.

• Regular Contributors

@cayenneman you sound exactly like I pretty much was over the last 24 years or so. I never used a binder and I always mixed my own spices to stuff into sausages I have made. Honestly I cant speak for the binders as I still have never tried any so I cant give an opinion. But I can say that the pre seasoned packages from Waltons are the best I have ever made. Everything I have tried has been superb to anything I could blend. You will get a while lot of responses on the benefits just not from me…yet…good luck and I hope to see pics on jere from your making!