Summer Sausage Help!

• Well, this is my first try at this. I received my order of H seasonings, casings and high temp cheeses. Have 20lbs Venison and 5lbs of pork fat thawed. Ready to grind and my smoker is out! Can I do the thermal portion in my regular oven? I checked it and lowest temp setting is 170. I am going to omit the accelerator so as to store over night to cure process per video. Just not sure if i can lower/slow down the cook process by opening oven door a few inches maybe?

• Power User

@idahitman You can certainly use an oven for warm up! Many people use their oven exclusively. While it may not be the most efficient method if you have to keep it cracked it will still work. I have found that my oven works better and is far quicker than using my smoker for jerky.

• Thanks Joe! Appreciate the help. Going to grind now, stuff and let set overnight in fridge. Thermal tomorrow. Will update.

• Power User

This post is deleted!

• Hi…first time poster and summer sausage maker and didn’t know how to ask a direct question so I’m using the reply approach . Made venison summer sausage and used fibrous casing, stuffed with no issues looked great. Smoked in my electric smoker for 7 1/2 hrs until 160. All my casings cracked, I started slow and worked up to 200 + and held at that temp . Obvious question was it too HOT ? Has anyone had that type of issue when they first started? Thanks for any help.

• @strenkarosa Did you soak the casings in water before stuffing?

• @strenkarosa id say 200+ is too excessive. Where did you find the smoking instructions?

• @strenkarosa