Snack Stick Seasoning Portions for Small Batches

• Austin, I’m new to snack sticks, jerky, etc. I just bought an 11lb sausage stuffer from you to make snack sticks. I bought some of your Excalibur seasonings and some sure gel. I plan to start with the BBQ Smoked seasoning. My question is that I just want to make a 5lb or a 10lb batch. What’s the best way to portion out the seasoning/sure cure and sure gel so that I get the right amounts for each of these batches?

• Admin

@Libohunden
    To convert seasonings to a smaller batch, you just need a couple simple calculations.
    Basically, you take the weight of the seasoning package and divide it by the amount of meat it is meant to season, then multiple it by the number of pounds of meat in your batch.

To measure out the seasonings, you can use just about any small kitchen scale. Ounces or pounds can work, you just may have to convert between the two, but Google makes that easy. I use a Compact Digital Kitchen Scale for stuff like this, to be as exact as I can.

If you don’t have a scale to measure it out 100% perfectly, don’t sweat it. I’d still be comfortable dumping a bag of seasoning onto a cutting board and splitting out portions by eyeballing it to get 5 approximately equal piles of seasoning which would each do 5 lb of meat (5 x 5 = 25 lb total for the package). If you don’t use a scale, you won’t be quite as consistent from batch to batch, but you are not going to ruin anything by using a little extra or little less seasoning. I even typically use more seasoning than something calls for because I like the extra flavor and little bit extra saltiness.

Examples

BBQ Smoked Stick Seasoning and a 5 lb batch:
    3.25 lb BBQ Smoked Stick seasoning per package
    Take that weight and divide it by 25 lb (the amount the bag is meant to season)
    Then, multiply it by 5 (or the amount of meat in your batch)
    You get 0.65 lb
    If you want to convert that to ounces, multiple it by 16, and you get 10.4 oz