Roll Call (Start Here First)

• Hello all, I’m Daniel from the rolling hills NW IL. I’m truly impress with the kind folks that hangout in this community. They are a wealth of information on all things to do with meat processing.

• Newbie here. I live in middle Georgia and am just diving in to this hopefully fulfilling hobby of making my own sausages and snacks. Looking forward to getting started with it, and completing my first recipe.

My only smoker is a Traeger, which is wonderful for smoking a brisket or pork butt, but I’m going to have to play with it to get it to smoke my summer sausages. (my first recipe order).

• Walton's Employee

@megajunk Welcome to the board! Smoking snack sticks and summer sausage on a pellet grill/smoker combo can be difficult but it certainly can be done. The largest issue you will probably run into is that you want to start the smoker at 120° for about an hour and then bump it to 140°. Most pellet grills start at 150°, so a few people have been starting them in there oven or propping the door open to let some heat bleed out. Propping the door open can work, but you need an accurate ambient thermometer.

• @jonathon

Thanks for the reply. I may rig up something with an external controller and thermocouple with an electric burner as a heat source for the lower temperatures until I get something better. I’ll make it work, somehow!

Thanks, again.

• Walton's Employee

@megajunk I was just replying to @Chicovt in another post about this but if you have something like a pizza stone or other thick piece of ceramic you could put it under your grates and help with heat deflection.

• @jonathon

I do indeed, and that’s a great idea. I’ll try it.