Hot Dogs

• I am new to making hot dogs and have a few questions. I watched the video and saw you used superbind. I have carrot fiber currently and was wondering if that would work instead? Next, do you think I could smoke the cellulose cases for an hour then sous vide for the rest of the time until the correct temp? Would that change the texture of the product? Finally you used sodium erythorbate, is this step necessary since it is not done when making things like hot links? Sorry for all the questions but I appreciate the help.

• Team Blue PK100 Power User

ffmedicman If you seach back for hot dog you’ll see some good examples. I use walton’s hot dog and chili dog spice. I smoke for 2ish hours then into water batch (turkey fryer) at 170F until done. I use the cellulose and they do take smoke but they are a pain to peel them off. We use scissors to to snip then quick slit down the dog and they pop right out. I don’t use anything but 50/50 venison/pork and the waltons spice mix. Don’t bother trying to make this stuff up on your own I can’t tell you how much wasted time and product we experimented with before I found Waltons mixes. BTW you have to try the chili dog!!!

• Parksider Did you leave the meat mixture in the fridge over for the cure to work or just straight into the casings? Thanks for all your help. I am going to use the chili dog spice so I’m glad you said it was good!

• Team Orange Power User Masterbuilt

ffmedicman
    Actually gonna be trying the hot dogs myself for the first time once hunting is done. I would agree with Parksider about Walton’s seasonings. Very good. And yes the chili dog will be in my next order.

• Team Blue PK100 Power User

ffmedicman I stuffed right away. We get through the cooking process is less than 4 hours so I’m fine not worrying about the cure.

• Team Blue Admin Walton's Employee