Temperatures dropping on summer sausage

• I am fairly new to smoking summer sausage. I am smoking 1lb chubs. The internal temperature got up to 151 then dropped to 147. Is that normal and when should I pull them. Thanks!

• Power User

Arod2015 i pull mine at 157° internal temp. Some say 160°. Did you open the smoker door to check on them? How well insulated is your smokehouse compared to outside temps if your using an outside smokehouse. If you are done with your smoking process and increased your temp as well as closed your dampers to do your final cook and still not reaching your final temp you can either boil water and put a pan of water in the bottom of smokehouse or Jonathan has had good success with soaking big carwash sponges with water putting in pan and in smokehouse. What is your smokehouse temp currently?

• twilliams it is a masterbuilt electric smoker at 180 degrees. I didn’t open the door. Are temp drops normal?

• Power User

Arod2015 i dont believe so, however if you didnt have enough water in the batch and it cooked out you may need to add a pan of water to make steam for it to get back up there again. Advice from others would also help as i have not had this issue

• twilliams noticed the damper was just slightly open. Closed it tight and temp is rising. Thanks!

• Arod2015 ok. So I pulled them out, threw them in an ice bath and they are all wrinkled. How do you prevent this?

• Power User