Uneven vertical smoker temperature.

• I am new to snack stick and sausage making and bought a Smoke Hollow 3616 digital electric vertical smoker to be able to use the low temperature drying and smoking features. It’s a simple ad straightforward smoker with heating element, wood chip drawer and water pan on the bottom and temperature probe and controller on top. I started a batch of snack sticks the other night by taking all of the racks out and suspending the snack sticks on dowels in place of the top rack. I put a remote thermometer probe in the center of one of the snack sticks in the center of the group. There were about a dozen snack sticks doubled over three dowels and were not crowded. I had no problems with the drying or smoking cycles and the internal meat temperature came up to 120F or so. I raised the setpoint temperature to the recommended 155F and then to 180F to finish the snack sticks. After an hour or so, the internal meat temperature had only gotten to around 140F so I raised the setpoint to around 200F. I had a remote thermometer in the top damper vent to monitor the temperature inside the smoker and it pretty well agreed with the controller. After another hour, the internal meat temperature had not gotten above 145F, so I hunted around and found my oven temperature thermometer. I hung it off my meat probe so that I could see the air temperature. It stabilized at 160F with the top and bottom of the smoke chamber at 200F. I couldn’t imagine how that could be, but here it was and the snack sticks would never hit 160F internal temperature at the probe without the tops and bottoms overcooking. I’m guessing that the heat was coming up the walls and escaping through the top damper, which could not be closed any further. I pulled the snack sticks out and finished them to 160F in my kitchen oven in just a few minutes after ours of no change in the smoker. They came out fine, but left me with no explanation of why the center of the smoker was colder than th