Potato Sausage question

• Hello, all. I’m new to sausage making and have a question. My first batch of brats turned out great but today’s batch of potato sausage had “blowouts”. Now I’m reading that I could have just frozen them raw but my recipe said to simmer for 15 minutes. First I thought it was because my second batch of simmering I used the water from the first batch. Thought it had something to do with not starting with cold water. Third simmer had two blowouts while I used fresh water. Any suggestions?

• What type of casings?

• Hog Casings, 32/35 mm

• Yeah, surprised it happened with natural casings
    The usual causes are too tight on the stuffing, especially if something in your mix expanded when heated (although potatoes seem to be heat stable)
    Air pockets could be a cause
    Simmer is about 170 F, I’ve had boudin blowouts because I let the heat get too high but that was with collagen
    Forgive me if these seem too basic but you say you are new to sausage making and we all start somewhere

• Thanks! Yep, just starting, and learning a lot. It was delicious, if messy. Next is breakfast sausage with collagen…

• BettyWNC I poke lots of small holes in two sides and put them in the microwave on medium low for 15 minutes then pour off any liquid and turn them over and give them 10 minutes more on medium low. If you like them browned finish them in a fry pan with a little bacon grease. Also when I grind the potatoes I mix in the spices and onions that have been run through a food processor and add potato flour to stiffen up the mixture. This prevents the potatoes from going brown. Since I use ground moose and pork and freeze most of the sausages I use a pointed knife to poke the frozen sausages on both sides and nuke them on medium low until they are cooked. )

• Team Orange Masterbuilt Big Green Egg