Goose summer sausage

• Team Orange

Hey guys,

I’ve made summer sausage out of multiple kinds of wild game. This is probably my 6th or 7th batch of Canadian goose breast meat in the last few years. The goose meat is so much more wet than anything else it seems? I took this batch which calls for 20% pork or beef trim just 1 course grind for each and hand mixed. I took this batch ranging anywhere from 155 to 165 IT. And they still appear under cooked. My recipe also calls for water to mixed which I leave out with the goose meat. If I follow this recipe with venison or bear its fine. Is there something Im missing? Or a recommendation to get the texture of the meat more dry (or dry looking)?

ss.jpg

• Sous Vide Canning PK100 Team Blue Regular Contributors

I am no expert, but maybe run the ladder, and step up your temps like snack sticks. Maybe increase the drying period. I do 125 for 1 hour (maybe increase this one), 140 for 1 hour, 155 for 2 hours, then 175 til I reach internal temp I am looking for. Just a thought.

• Canning Dry Cured Sausage Primo Grills Team Blue Regular Contributors Sous Vide Power User

deanlorensen Don’t really know, but my understanding is that goose meat is much more fattier that other meat sources. I have made a gumbo with goose, likely the best gumbo I’ve made, but it did have a lot of fat. Not sure if that would be a factor

• Team Blue