Smoked Polish Kielbasa

• My Polish Kielbasa seasoning jar came in today and I’m itching to have a go at it. My question is the smoking directions…

It states to start out at a pretty low temp and ramp up. My RecTeq will only go as low as 180. I’ve been doing bacon there every smoke.

Think I’ll be ok starting at that temp for my sausage? And what internal temp should I be looking for? I’m thinking 160?

Finally, sold I let the links sit in the fridge overnight to allow time for the cure to do its thing, or can I go directly to the smoker? Any thoughts on wood for smoking? My plan was for hickory but I have some blends available as well.

I’m very excited to try to my hand at making this. I’ve done breakfast pan sausage numerous times and have been curing and smoking bacon and other meats for a while as well so while I’m quite the noob at link sausages I’ve been using a smoker for many years.

All input welcomed. Thanks!

• Team Orange Masterbuilt Big Green Egg Dry Cured Sausage Sous Vide Canning Power User

I would find a way to get the initial temp down so that the sausage has a chance to dry so that your smoke will have a better chance of adhering. Maybe prop open the door.

If you are not using a cure accelerator it would be fine to let them rest overnight.

For smoked Polish oak or pecan would also be a good choice.

• YooperDog are you speaking of Pink cure #1 when you talk of a cure accelerator? If so then yes I will be using that.

Couldn’t the links dry in the fridge overnight or even for a couple days? That would dry the skins for sure I would think.

Your thoughts?

• Team Orange Masterbuilt Big Green Egg Dry Cured Sausage Sous Vide Canning Power User