duck meat

• what do I need to add to change the texture of duck meat I added a binder and did a 50 50 mix with pork shoulder. the brats still came out with a weird texture. Do I need more fat? I have lot’s more meat to use but I am not happy with my last product I need help any duck meat people out there ? Thanks any help will be greatly appreciated . Duckbill

• This post is deleted!

• I use pork loin instead of shoulder. It is more of a white meat than lshouldet and it helps offset the darkness of duck meat. I also use a medium plate grinder on the pork instead of a fine plate. Lastly I add 10% pork fat.

• This post is deleted!
  • Power User PK100 Regular Contributors

duckbill can you explain your full process, meat block, ingredients, amounts? What was your wierd texture? Too coarse/fine? Dry? Greasy?

• I’m new to this so not sure what a meat block is. I ran both the duck and pork shoulder thru the grinder , then ran them thru together. I used waltons carrot binder some montreal steak seasoning ,3 tbl spoons kosher salt.1/2 oz of liquid smoke,1/2 cup water,1/2tsp nutmeg,1tbl sp paprika,1tsp pepper,some chopped jalapenos, and some cheddar cheese.

duckbill meat block would be your poundage of meat that you used. It is common for people to do 12.5 lb and 25lb meat block. Most seasoning packs are for 25lbs and is quite easy to split in half. There are people that do smaller batches like 5lb or 10 lb and measure in grams to get the correct amounts of seasoning and cure for the poundage of meat being used. Also people that individualize seasoning such as you have. Did you follow a recipe with your measurements or just trying to come up with your own flavor? For example if i was to take your duck and do 50/50 for 25lbs total would be…
    12.5lbs duck
    12.5lbs pork shoulder

duckbill if it was me looking to make a fresh brat using duck here is what i would try for 25lbs.

15 lbs 80/20 pork trim or pork shoulder
    7.5 lbs duck
    2.5 lbs pork fat