Beef snack sticks callogen snap

• Masterbuilt

Hi I’ve been making snack sticks for about two years. Last
    batch used Willy’s with 80/20 ground beef plus sure gel. I used 10 lbs of meat and 1 qt. Of water. Mixed in meat mixer for good protien extraction. Smoking schedule used was as recommended by Jon from Waltons. Taste and texture turned out great. Trying to get a great snap I dehydrated them for about 6 hours. Came out with great snap. Put the finished sticks in the refridge overnight using a sealed contaner layered with paper towels. By morning snap was gone. Am i expecting too much in wanting a great snap? Or what is the secret here? I vac pack sticks after processing. Casing comes out soft. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks all.

• Sous Vide

jroby I’m finding going to 165 IT, ice bath, then wrap in a big fat towel before cutting to length and into the fridge for about 24 hrs before vacsealing works great. I also dry them really well before going into the fridge. I also use no more than 24 oz of water doing the same with 80/20 ground beef…turning out perfect!

• Regular Contributors

jroby said in Beef snack sticks callogen snap:

Hi I’ve been making snack sticks for about two years. Last
    batch used Willy’s with 80/20 ground beef plus sure gel. I used 10 lbs of meat and 1 qt. Of water. Mixed in meat mixer for good protien extraction. Smoking schedule used was as recommended by Jon from Waltons. Taste and texture turned out great. Trying to get a great snap I dehydrated them for about 6 hours. Came out with great snap. Put the finished sticks in the refridge overnight using a sealed contaner layered with paper towels. By morning snap was gone. Am i expecting too much in wanting a great snap? Or what is the secret here? I vac pack sticks after processing. Casing comes out soft. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks all.