smoking an 8 lb. pork butt...

• Team Orange

I have never done a pork butt in my smoker before (mastercraft propane vertical). I have everything else figured out, but nowhere do I see whether or not anyone uses a tray of water in the bottom for moisture. I see that after developing a bark, people spritz the meat with a spray bottle every 15 to 30 minutes, with 1 cup of Apple Cider Vinegar and 1 cup of water. So my only question is… water tray when smoking, or no water tray? Thanks! John

• Canning Sous Vide Dry Cured Sausage Masterbuilt Regular Contributors

IndianaJohn I have a Masterbuilt electric and don’t need a water pan
    In fact I have to make sure my box is tilted back slightly to keep the condensation from messing up my patio when I open the door and I run the vent wide open
    Pork butt is probably the most forgiving meat to smoke I don’t think you would have a problem either way

• Team Orange Masterbuilt Big Green Egg Dry Cured Sausage Sous Vide Canning Power User

IndianaJohn I agree with glen either way will work. I have an electric, gas and stick. I my experience the gas itself has some moisture in the fuel itself. Not that I think it plays any part in cooking. If it looks like I am going to be stuck at a stall I will wrap to keep things moving along.

• Team Blue Admin Walton's Employee Power User

IndianaJohn You can still put one in if you want to help speed the process along a little. It won’t be an enourmous difference but it can help. Like YooperDog and glen both mention, pork butt is pretty forgiving, just lengthy!

• Team Orange

Thanks for the replies. I put my rub on it, wrapped it, and have it in the fridge overnight. I will start smoking early in the morning… low and slow. Thanks again!

• Team Orange Power User Masterbuilt

IndianaJohn
    No water pan here but lengthy as Jonathon said. Let’s see some pics at the end.

• Team Orange PK100 Dry Cured Sausage Sous Vide Power User

I hope your cook is going well.