• Team Orange

I have some experience with summer sausage, but I’ve never made snack sticks. A buddy who is brand new to smoking has asked me to teach him how to turn a bunch of his venison into snack sticks. I plan to use Sure-Gel, ECA and high-temp cheese.

Going through the Meatgistics videos I see two fairly different sets of time/temp instruction. I’m running an electric smoker controlled by an Auber PID, so I have no problem doing either but hoped for some clarification on which is best.

Drying (dampers full open, no smoke, no humidity):

• 120°F for 10 minutes
    • 130°F for 30 minutes

Smoking (dampers 1/3 open, add humidity, apply smoke)

• 130°F for 1 hour
    • 150°F for 1 hour
    • 160°F for 1 hour

Finishing (dampers closed unless needed for combustion, add humidity, no smoke)

• 180°F until meat = 160°F

Drying (dampers full open, no smoke, no humidity):

• 125°F for 1 hour

Smoking (dampers 1/3 open, add humidity, apply smoke)

• 140°F for 1 hour
    • 155°F for 2 hours

Finishing (dampers closed unless needed for combustion, add humidity, no smoke)

• undefined175°F until meat = 160°F

Then both had an ice bath and dried at room temp for an hour.

It seems like the first one takes the ECA through its transition phase a little slower, and that it finishes the sausage a little more aggressively. I’ve seen another recipe that wants the finishing step at 170°F, which eases the sticks up to 160 more slowly.

I have no idea what the impact of these slight differences (if any) might be. Since this will be my first batch and it’s someone else’s meat I hope to learn through others before I learn from experience.

• Regular Contributors

The smoking schedules and thermal processing have a couple objectives.

1. Raise the internal temperature of the product to the desired “kill” temperature to make a safe product.
    2. Add smoke flavor.
    3. Bind and dry the product to the desired texture.