Newbie. Just getting started and have questions :)

• I am going into this home sausage-making as a complete newbie! (Started fermenting sauerkraut and now husband wants sausage). I digress……

I recently purchased the following sausage seasonings and add-ins from Waltons:

• Willies Snack Stick

• Polish sausage

• Hot Link sausage

• Fresh Onion and Garlic Bratwurst

• 1 lb high-temp cheddar (to split between the Polish and Fresh Bratwurst)

• 1 lb high-temp pepper jack (to split between the Snack Sticks and the Hot Links)

• Encapsulated citric acid (For the snack sticks. Where else should I use this?)

• Carrot fiber (Can this be used in all sausages?)

I have 17mm smoke color collagen casings for the snack sticks and 26mm clear collagen casings for the rest.

I have a Masterbuilt 36" Bluetooth digital electric smoker with optional cold smoke box (which I use for bellies with Waltons Dry Rub Bacon Cure).

What are the smoking process and times for Hot link, as well as Polish sausage? I have looked on the Walton’s site and cannot seem to find those resources.

I have carrot fiber to add to the smoke items. Can carrot fiber be added to fresh bratwurst to smooth out the texture and retain moisture? We prefer a smoother, less coarse sausage.

Any good Banger seasoning mixes or recipes out there? Our favorite bangers come from Silva Sausage Co. in Gilroy, CA. - that is my target goal 🙂

Thank you in advance. Looking forward to your expert replies 🙂

• Walton's Employee

@Jurae said in Newbie. Just getting started and have questions 🙂:
    Hello and welcome Jurae! First, good choices on seasonings, the Willies is always a crowd pleaser and I have been itching to try the Onion and Garlic Brat for a while now, so you will have to let me know how that comes out.

Smoking process for Hot Link would be
    120° for 30 minutes without smoke
    130° for 30 minutes with smoke
    140° for 30 minutes with smoke
    150° for 30 minutes with smoke