• Hi there. I am new to sausage making and have begun with some of Walton’s snack sticks seasoning kits. I do use the sure cure but not encapsulated citric acid. I understand with that process that the meat needs to sit in the fridge for 24hrs before hitting the smoker.
    My question is, after mixing with seasonings and sure cure, does the meat need to be stuffed into casings before it rests overnight in the fridge or can the bowl of mixed meat be covered and sit in the fridge for 24hrs and then stuff the next day and smoked.
    Just curious if one way or the other mattered more.

Thank you!

• Team Blue Cast Iron Canning Dry Cured Sausage Masterbuilt

Welcome, I don’t hold meat for 24 hours, but instead I hold for at least 12 hours overnight. If you add the binder then you have to stuff right away or the meat will become one big lump of meat. Some mix spices and cure and let sit then mix the binder in right before stuffing. I add everything and stuff then hold in the fridge until the next day then I smoke it. There are different opinions, but ultimately you can experiment or do what fits your life.

• Team Orange Power User Canning Masterbuilt Veteran

rinirego I think it is easier to stuff the meat and then put in fridge for 12+ hours. If you stuff after refrigeration, you will probably have to add more liquid.

• Thank you both for the feedback. I think I do remember 12 hrs being mentioned and not 24. That’s my mistake. I don’t use a binder. My first batch I made I stuffed after mixing and let rest overnight in the fridge and came out great but this time I was tired and just covered the meat in the mixing bowl and put it in the fridge last night to stuff today.

• Team Orange Power User Canning Masterbuilt Veteran

rinirego You will be ok, like I said you might have to add some liquid to get it to stuff easier, especially with snack sticks.

• Regular Contributors