summer sausage

• Ive been making summer sausage for about 2 yrs now I use the fibrous casing and pack it as tight as i can Matter fact had some break so tight Im smoking at low temp 140 then 160 180 till 160 internal temp Im getting alot of shrinkage in the meat Ive use 80/20 85/15 and 90/10 I shower the meat when done with cold water Every think im supose to do according to recipe What is going on The tase great just not pretty looking

• Team Blue Admin Walton's Employee

chuck Since you have been stuffing them tight and showering them after I would say the two most likely issues would be either low to no humidity in your smoker or not enough protein extraction. To try to combat the humidity issue you can add a water pan to your smoker, this will add some (not a lot but better than nothing) humidity to the smoker and prevent it from drying out. For protein extraction you can do a few things, you could add a binder like Excaliburs Sure Gel or just make absolutely sure you have achieved the correct level of protein extraction when mixing.

A few other things just to think about.
    Have the casings soaked for 30 minutes in hot water before stuffing?
    Are you using a prepackaged seasoning or a home recipe? If the salt content is off you might have an issue with this.
    Are you cooking them too long?
    How long are you showering them? I generally find an ice bath is a little easier if your smoker doesn’t have a shower cycle. Evaporation energy from showering will actually cool the product more efficiently than an ice bath will but that’s assuming that your shower cycle is set correctly.

The most likely issue though is either too low humidity or not enough protein extraction.

Anyone else have thoughts?