Goose Snack Stick and Sausage Ratio??

• Hi all,

I am new to the sausage and snack stick game and was looking for some advice. I am confused when people talk about pork fat ratios when making these products with wild game (goose). I am planning on doing 50% pork butt (from the butcher shop) with 50% of goose breast meat. So, 20lbs of pork butt and 20lbs of goose meat.

Does this sound right? Should I be adding some straight pork fat too? Just a newbie looking for some advise!

• Walton's Employee

@ddibara if you are going to make it 50/50 with goose and pork butt then there is no need to add straight pork fat to your product. Just make sure that your pork butt is untrimmed, you want a nice thick fat cap on it, to get you in the correct range. Hope this helped!

• @jonathon Awesome, thank you!

• Walton's Employee

@ddibara What seasoning are you planning on using? We have a retail store attached to our offices and the old manager was a huge bird hunter and he made some amazing goose sticks. I think his favorite was the Habanero BBQ for goose but I’m sure they will all be good!

• I just placed an order for the Willies seasoning and I may add some hot cheese! I will have to try the Habanero BBQ next time!

Recent Posts

• D

I got ready to place an order an noticed many of the seasonings you carry are only available in quantities to mix 100# batches. Why are the batches so large? I make most of my summer sausage from a venison and pork mix after we’ve taken the cuts for steaks, made our ground and canned a few quarts. That being said doesn’t leave a lot for sausages, thus a 100# mix could last me years.
    Am I missing something?

read more
  • R

Thanks. Will start small before going big

read more
  • C

@RayStripling I would recommend using the powder and not the salt as it might make the end results to salty as for how much that is a matter of taste but remember you can add more at the end when you serve it but you cannot take it away.

read more